Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 4, 1871
– 409 –

Third Meeting. 17th July, 1871.
J. S. Webb, Vice-President in the chair.

New members.—Professor Sale, John Douglas, Henry Tewsley, George Miller, A. F. Oswin.

The Chairman said that it had only dawned upon him late in the afternoon that he would have to occupy the chair that evening, and therefore the few remarks he should presently have to offer had been very hurriedly prepared. It had been arranged that Mr. J. T. Thomson should preside that evening, but that gentleman was at present engaged every night in astronomical observations in connection with an observatory at the Hutt, Wellington, with which his own observatory had been connected by telegraph, and as explained in a note which he held in his hand, his presence there to-night would interrupt a work in which many persons were engaged.