Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 6, 1873
This text is also available in PDF
(73 KB) Opens in new window
– 406 –
Election of Officers for 1874

Election of Officers for 1874.—President—Chief Justice Sir George A. Arney; Council—J. L. Campbell, M.D., J. C. Firth, T. B. Gillies, J. Goodall, C.E., D. Hay, Hon. Col. Haultain, Rev. J. Kinder, D.D., Rev. A. G. Purchas, M.R.C.S.E., J. Stewart, C.E., T. F. S. Tinne, T. Heale; Auditor—C. Tothill; Secretary—T. F. Cheeseman.

The President informed the members that steps were being taken to present Mr. Kirk, their late Secretary, with a substantial recognition of his services. Mr. Kirk had not been an ordinary Secretary. He had contributed largely, not only in papers, but also in specimens to the Museum and books to the Library.

The Rev. Dr. Purchas spoke in terms of praise of Mr. Kirk, and of the value of his services to the society as a scientific man of a high order and of a European reputation.

Considerable discussion took place on the urgent necessity existing for increased accommodation for the Library and Museum, and it was resolved that the Council be recommended to appoint a sub-committee especially to attend to the subject.

Resolved—That a vote of thanks be given to the President, Council, and Office-bearers of the society for their services during the past year, and that the same be recorded on the minutes of the Institute.