Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 6, 1873
– 416 –

Third Meeting. 7th May, 1873.
G. W. Hall in the chair.

On the motion of Dr. Turnbull, seconded by Dr. Powell, resolved—That a Standing Committee be appointed to watch over the formation of townships, whether Government or private, so that a piece of land be set aside in each for the purposes of recreation, etc. The Committee in each case to bring the subject before the Government, so that a recreation ground, in proportion to size of township, may be set aside. The Standing Committee to consist of Dr. Coward, Mr. Bray, Mr. Wright, and Mr. Fereday.