Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 11, 1878
This text is also available in PDF
(69 KB) Opens in new window
– 582 –


The number of Meteorological Stations is now 14, namely:—Mongonui, Auckland, Taranaki, Napier, Wanganui, Wellington, Nelson, Cape Campbell, Christchurch, Bealey, Hokitika, Dunedin, Queenstown, Southland.

The returns made by the Observers are published in the usual form, but it is very desirable that the re-organization of this branch should be effected, with the view of reducing the present number of stations, and substituting a few thoroughly equipped observatories, and a large number of stations where only rainfall, direction of wind, and temperature would be observed. By this means the same expenditure would give more valuable results.