Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 14, 1881
– xiv –

Wellington Philosophical Society.

Office-bearers for 1881:—President–James Hector, C.M.G., M.D., F.R.S.; Vice-presidents–Dr. Buller, C.M.G., F.R.S., Hon. G. Randall Johnson, M.L.C.; Council–W. T. L. Travers, F.L.S., T. Kirk, F.L.S., A. K. Newman, M.B., M.R.C.P., J. P. Maxwell, A.I.C.E., F. W. Frankland, R. H Govett, Martin Chapman; Auditor—W. M. Bannatyne; Secretary and Treasurer–R. B. Gore.

Office-bearers for 1882:—President–W. T. L. Travers, F.L.S.; Vice presidents—Hon. G. R. Johnson, Dr. Buller, C.M.G., F.B.S.; Council–A. K. Newman, M.B., M.R.C.P., J. P. Maxwell, A.I.C.E., R. Govett, M. Chapman, James Hector, M.D., C.M.G., F.R.S., S. H. Cox, F.G.S., F.C.S., T. King; Auditor–Oliver Wakefield; Secretary and Treasurer–R. B. Gore.

Extracts from the Rules of the Wellington Philosophical Society.


Every member shall contribute annually to the funds of the Society the sum of one guinea.


The annual contribution shall be due on the first day of January in each year.


The sum of ten pounds may be paid at any time as a composition for life of the ordinary annual payment.


The time and place of the General Meetings of members of the Society shall be fixed by the Council and duly announced by the Secretary.