Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 14, 1881
– xv –

Philosophical Institute of Canterbury.

Office-bearers for 1881:—President—Professor J. von Haast, F.R.S.; Vice-presidents–Rev. J. W. Stack, R. W. Fereday; Council–Professor A. W. Bickerton, J. Inglis, E. Dobson, T. S. Lambert, N.K. Cherrill: Hon.Treasurer–W. M. Maskell; Hon. Secretary–Gr. Gray; Auditors–C. R. Blakiston, W. D. Carruthers.

Office-bearers for 1882:—President–Professor J. von Haast, F.R.S.; Vice-presidents–E. W. Fereday, Professor F. W. Hutton; Hon. Secretary–G. Gray; Hon. Treasurer–W. M. Maskell; Council–E. Dobson, J. Inglis, Professor A. W. Bickerton, T. Crook, T. S. Lambert, H. E. Webb; Auditors–C. R. Blakiston, W. D. Carruthers.

Extracts from the Rules of the Philosophical Institute of Canterbury.


The Ordinary Meetings of the Institute shall be held on the first Thursday of each month during the months from March to November inclusive.


Members of the Institute shall pay one guinea annually as a subseription to the funds of the Institute. The subscription shall be due on the first of November in every year. Any member whose subscription shall be twelve months in arrears, shall cease to be a member of the Institute, but he may be restored by the Council if it sees fit.


Members may compound for all annual subscriptions of the current and future years by paying ten guineas.