Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 14, 1881
– xvi –

Westland Institute.

Office-bearers for 1881:—President–Dr. Giles, R.M.; Vice-president–W. A. Spence; Hon. Treasurer–T. O. W. Croft; Secretary–B. Hilldrup; Council–R. C. Reid, M.H.R., A. H. King, E. F. Rich, J. Pearson, G. A. Paterson, J. Nicholson, D. McDonald, H. R. Rae, McL. W. Jack, F. A. Learmonth, R. W. Wade, Dr. James.

Extracts from the Rules of the Westland Institute.


The Institute shall consist:—(1) Of life-members i.e., persons who have at any one time made a donation to the Institute of ten pounds ten shillings or upwards; or persons who, in reward of special services rendered to the Institute, have been unanimously elected as such by the Committee or at the general half-yearly meeting. (2) Of members who pay two pounds two shillings each year. (3) Of members paying smaller sums, not less than ten shillings.


The Institute shall hold a half-yearly meeting on the third Monday in the months of December and June.