Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 14, 1881
– xvii –

Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute.

Office-bearers for 1881:—President–The Right Rev. the Bishop of Waiapu; Vice-president–E. H. Bold; Hon. Secretary and Treasurer–W. Colenso; Auditor–T.K. Newton; Council–H. Baker, – Carlile, S. Locke, W. Colenso, – Spencer, F. W. C. Sturm,– Weber.

Extracts from the Rules of the Hawkee's Bay Philosophical Institute.


The annual subscription for each member shall be one guinea, payable in advance, on the first day of January in every year.


Members may at any time become life-members by one payment of ten pounds ten shillings in lieu of future annual subscriptions.

  • (4.) The session of the Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute shall be during the winter months from May to October, both inclusive; and general meetings shall be held on the second Monday in each of those six months, at 8 p.m.

Southland Institute.

Office-bearers for 1882:—President–J. T. Thomson, F.R.G.S.; Vicepresident–W. S. Hamilton; Hon. Treasurer–J. C. Thomson; Hon. Secretary–P. Goyen; Council–Dr. Galbraith, T. Denniston, W. B. Scandrett, – Robertson, W. G. Mchaffey.