Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 16, 1883
This text is also available in PDF
(106 KB) Opens in new window

Fifteenth Annual Report.

The Board held meetings on the following dates:—8th August, 25th October, 1882; 15th January and 20th March, 1883.

The members elected under clause 7 of the Act are: The Hon. Mr. Rolleston, Mr. J. McKerrow, and Mr. Martin Chapman. The following gentlemen were elected honorary members of the New Zealand Institute: Sir William Thomson, F.R.S.; Dr. W. B. Carpenter, F.R.S., C.B.; and Mr. R. L. Ellery, F.R.S.,—there now being twenty-seven honorary members.

The members now on the roll of the Institute are:

Honorary members 27
Ordinary members—
Auckland Institute 320
Hawke's Bay Philosophical Society 108
Wellington Philosophical Society 289
Westland Institute 87
Philosophical Institute of Canterbury 163
Otago Institute 178
Southland Institute 62

The printing of Volume XV. was commenced on the 10th January and finished early in April, the first issue of the volumes being made about the 17th May. The volume contains sixty-two articles, also Presidents' Addresses and abstracts of papers, which appear with the Proceedings and Appendix. There are 586 pages of letter-press and 40 plates.

The following is a division of the contents of the volume for comparison with that of last year:—

1883. 1882.
Pages. Pages.
Miscellaneous 90 200
Zoology 236 144
Botany 124 104
Chemistry 16
Geology 60 52
Proceedings 26 54
Appendix 50 40
586 610
– 536 –

The volumes now in stock are: Vol I. (second edition), 400; vol. II., none; vol. III., none; vol. IV., none; vol. V., 48; vol. VI., 47; vol. VII., 146; vol. VIII., 18; vol. IX., 150; vol. X., 8; vol. XI., 60; vol. XII., 65; vol. XIII., 68; vol. XIV., 90; vol. XV., not yet fully distributed.

From the Hon. Treasurer's statement of accounts it will be seen that there is a balance in hand of £77 14s. 7d.

The annual reports of various Government departments connected with the objects of the Institute under the Manager's direction are appended.

James Hector,

Approved by the Board, 3rd August, 1883.
Wm. F. Drummond Jervois,