Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 16, 1883
This text is also available in PDF
(75 KB) Opens in new window
– 543 –


The meteorological observations now taken for statistical purposes are limited to stations at Auckland, Wellington, Lincoln, and Dunedin, but observations of rainfall, temperature, and wind-direction are received from the following third-class stations, twenty in number, viz., at Petone, Makara, Upper Hutt, Summit Station, Wellington, Masterton, Feilding, New Plymouth, Wanganui, Palmerston North, Christchurch, Puysegur Point, Cape Campbell, Oamaru, Timaru, The Brothers, Farewell Spit, Lee-field, Marlborough, Brighton, Otago, Taupo, and Invercargill. The results are published in most cases every month either in the Gazette or in the local newspapers, and are collected into the annual volume of the statistics of the colony published by the Registrar-General.

The system of intercolonial weather exchange has now been in operation for two years, and the expense has proved to be much under the estimate formed at the Conference. The diagram of the weather for each day over the south part of Australia, Tasmania, and New Zealand is published the same afternoon in Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, and Hobart, and by a system of numbered blocks, which have been supplied by this department, a diagram of the weather of each day is published in the morning newspapers in Auckland, Wellington, Christchurch, and Dunedin, and the information without diagrams is published by most of the other papers in the colony, being distributed by the Press Agency. The local weather warnings for the benefit of the shipping round the coast continue to be supplied as heretofore by Captain Edwin, R.N., and are very generally appreciated.