Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 19, 1886
– 609 –

Popular Lecture, No. 3: 30th August, 1886.
Dr. W. H. Symes, President, in the chair.

“The volcanic Eruption in the North Island,” by Professor Hutton, F.G.S.

Fourth Meeting: 3rd September, 1886.
Dr. W. H. Symes, President, in the chair.

New Members.—Messrs. G. J. Anderson, C. J. Frank, and H. Wilson.

Papers.—1. “On the Age and Subdivisions of the Sedimentary Rocks in the Canterbury Mountains,” by Sir Julius von Haast, K.C.M.G., F.R.S., D.Sc., Ph.D. (Transactions, p. 449.)

Professor Hutton criticised the paper, on the ground that the researches of the Baron von Ettingshausen, which formed the basis of the paper, bore out the views of Dr. Hector rather than those advocated by Sir J. von Haast.

2. “Observations on the Glands in the Leaf and Stem of the Ngaio,” by Miss C. Alexander, B.A. Communicated by Professor F. W. Hutton. (Transactions, p. 314.)

The President announced that the Institute, having been asked to take part in the formation of an Australasian Association for the Advancement of Science, to be inaugurated in celebration of the centenary of the founding of the Colony of New South Wales, had appointed Mr. S. H. Cox, F.C.S., F.G.S., to represent them at the preliminary meetings about to be held in Sydney.

Fifth Meeting: 7th October, 1886.
Professor F. W. Hutton, F.G.S., in the chair.

New Members.—Dr. Hunt, Captain Garcia, Mr. W. T. Charlewood.

– 610 –

Papers.—1. “Transcendental Geometry and Mr. Frank-land,” by Mr. G. Hogben, M.A. (Transactions, p. 510.)

2. “Notes on the Anatomy of the Limpet,” by Mr. J. A. Newell, B.A. (Transactions, p. 157.)

3. “On the New Zealand Noctuina,” by Mr. E. Meyrick, B.A., F.E.S. (Transactions, p. 3.)