Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 27, 1894
This text is also available in PDF
(71 KB) Opens in new window
– 685 –

Daring the session seven ordinary meetings and ten Council meetings have been held.

Eleven papers have been read: four on geological, one on botanical, and six on general subjects. Five new members have joined; and the Council has to regret the loss of Mr. D. Petrie, M.A., who has removed to Auckland, and of Mr. D. Wilkinson, A.R.S.M., who has left New Zealand.

The Council has nominated Mr. J. MeKerrow to vote in the election of Governors of the New Zealand Institute, and Dr. Anton Dohrn, of the Zoological Station, Naples, a honorary member of the New Zealand Institute.

Satisfaction is expressed at the appointment of a curator (Mr. R. Henry) to the reserve for native birds at Resolution Island, and the regret of the Council is once more recorded that no steps have yet been taken towards the publication of a new Flora of New Zealand.

The balance-sheet showed the total receipts for the year to be £76 6s., which, together with the balance of £72 17s. 9d. brought forward from last year, made a sum of £150 3s. 9d. The expenditure for the year was £124 7s. 6d., leaving a credit balance of £25 16s. 3d.