Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 31, 1898
This text is also available in PDF
(66 KB) Opens in new window

F. E. Chapman, President, in the chair.

New Members.—Mr. W. Moore, of Waikouaiti; Mr. Stanley Carr, Dunedin; Dr. Frank Hay.

The President, in his opening remarks, stated that a message of sympathy had been sent on behalf of the Institute to Mrs. Kirk, together with the following resolution : “That the Council of the Otago Institute records its deep sense of the loss sustained by the colony in the death of the late Thomas Kirk, F.L.S., whose scientific labours have contributed so largely to the advancement of the study of botany in New Zealand.”

Dr. T. M. Hocken read a paper on “The Fire Ceremony of the Fijians.” (Transactions, p. 667.)