Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 42, 1909

Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute.

Third Meeting: 30th August, 1909.

W. Dinwiddie, Esq., in the chair.

Paper.—“Is it possible to formulate a Sick, Out-of-work, and Pension Scheme for the Industrial Classes of the Dominion ?” by H. Hill.

Fourth Meeting: 27th September, 1909.

H. Hill, Esq., in the chair.

Paper.—“Milk and its Composition; and Practical Dairy-work in Schools,” by E. Loten.

Fifth Meeting: 18th October, 1909.

D. L. Smart, Esq., in the chair.

Paper.—“Measurements in Electricity,” by J. Niven, M.A., M.Sc.

The paper was illustrated by numerous experiments.

Annual Meeting: 4th February, 1910.

Election of Officers for 1910.—President—Dr. E. A. W. Henley; Vice-President—H. Hill, B.A., F.G.S.; Hon. Secretary—J. Niven, M.A., M.Sc.; Hon. Treasurer—J. W. Craig; Council—Dr. J. P. Leahy, Dr. T. C. Moore; Messrs. Gilbert Clark, W. Dinwiddie, J. Hislop, and G. K. Sinclair. Hon. Auditor—J. S. Large; Hon. Lanternist—E. Loten.

A hearty vote of thanks was passed to Mr. J. Hislop, who retired from the Hon. Secretaryship after nearly twelve years' service.