Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 48, 1915
– 538 –

Geological Section

At a special meeting on the 31st March, 1915, Professor J P Iddings delivered an address entitled “The Mechanics of Igneous Intrusion” Seven ordinary meetings were held during the year, and the following papers were read (21st April) “The ‘Red Rocks’ and Associated Beds in the Wellington Peninsula,” by Mr F K Broadgate (19th May) ‘Types of Folding in the Terebratulacea,” by Dr J A Thomson, ‘The Amuri Limestone and Flint Series of Marlborough,” by Dr J A. Thomson. (16th June) “Fault Coasts—Examples from Marlborough and Wellington,” by Dr C A′ Cotton (21st July) “The Weka Pass District,” by Mr P G Morgan, “Evolutionary Stocks in New Zealand Tertiary Brachiopoda,” by Dr. J. A Thomson (18th August) “The Structure of the Paparoa Range,” by Dr. J. Henderson. (15th September) “East Coast Earthquakes, September to November, 1914.” by Mr G Hogben (20th October)” High-water Rock-platforms. A Phase ot Shore-line Erosion,” by Mr J A Bartrum, “Stage Names applicable to Divisions of the Tertiary in New Zealand,” by Dr. J A Thomson, “The Continental Shelf,” by Dr C A Cotton, “An Artesian Trial Bore at the Westshore, Napier,” by Mr. R W Holmes.

At the annual general meeting (18th August) the following officers were elected for 1916. Chairman—Mr G. Hogben, Vice-Chairman— Dr C A Cotton, Hon Secretary—Dr J A Thomson, Committee—Mr. W. Gibson, Dr J. Henderson, Mr R W. Holmes, Mr. P. G. Morgan, Mr. M. Ongley. It was resolved that the Government should be approached with a view to continuing the seismological observations at the Samoa Seismological Station.