Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 48, 1915
– 551 –

Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute.

Four meetings were held during 1915, and the following papers were read. “Between Two Rivers,” by F. Hutchinson, jun.; “The Puketitrri Hot Springs,” by F. Hutchinson, jun.; “National Character,” by W. Dinwiddie; “Chemistry of some Explosives and Noxious Gases used in Warfare,” by J. Niven.

At the annual meeting, 4th December, 1915, the annual report was read and adopted.


The membership at the end of the year numbers seventy-nine. The loss by death of three members is noted—Messrs. Taylor White, J. N. Williams, and E W. Andrews.

Appreciation of the action of Mr. Gordon in conveying to the Crown the Kidnappers gannet nesting-place as a public reserve is placed on record.

Additions have been made as usual to the library, among which are specially noted the two volumes of “Illustrations of the New Zealand Flora,” presented to the library by the Minister of Internal Affairs.

The Treasurer's statement shows a credit balance of £54 5s. 1d.

Election of Officers for 1916.—President—Mr. D. A. Strachan, M.A.; Vice-President—Mr. W. H. Skinner; Council—Messrs. W. Dinwiddie, H Hill, B.A., F.G.S., F. Hutchinson, jun., W. Kerr, M.A., T. C. Moore, M.D, T. Hyde, Hon. Secretary—Mr. J. Niven, M.A., M.Sc. (Technical College, Napier); Hon. Treasurer—Mr. J. Wilson Craig (Coote Road, Napier); Hon Auditor—Mr. J. S. Large; Hon. Lanternist—Mr. E. G. Loten; Representative on Board of Governors—Mr. H. Hill, B.A., F G.S.