Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 50, 1918
This text is also available in PDF
(180 KB) Opens in new window
– 350 –

Otago Institute.

During the year eight ordinary meetings of the Institute were held, at which there were read or received eleven papers embodying the results of original research. The titles of these papers, with the names of the authors, are as follows:—(12th June) “On a Partially White Form of Puffinus griseus,” by Mr. D. L. Poppelwell; “Notes on a Botanical Visit to Hollyford Valley and Martin's Bay,” by Messrs. D. L. Poppelwell and W. A. Thomson; “Notes on a Botanical Excursion to Bunker's Island,” by Mr. D. L. Poppelwell; “Notes on a Botanical Visit to Coll or Bench Island,” by Mr. D. L. Poppelwell: (9th October) “On the Age of the Alpine Cham of Western Otago,” by Professor J. Park, F.G.S.; “On the Miocene (Oamaru Stone) Coral Reef,” by Professor J. Park, F.G.S.; “Descriptions of New Species of Lepidoptera,” by Mr. Alfred Philpott (communicated); “On the Structure of Amphibola crenata,” by Miss W. Farnie, M.A. (communicated); “Notes on a Trematode from Amphibola crenata,” by Miss W. Farnie, M.A. (communicated); “Notes on the Autecology of certain Plants of the Mineral Belt, Nelson,” by Miss M. W. Betts, M.Sc. (communicated);” The Origin of Serpentine,” by Dr. W. N. Benson, F.G.S.

The following addresses have also been delivered during the past session: “The Position of Science in our Educational System “(presidential address), by Dr. J. K. H. Inglis; “The Coming of the Earthworm to New Zealand by Dr. W. B. Benham; “The Rainbow Top,” by Mr. T. B. Hamilton; “William James and Pragmatism,” by Dr. F. W. Dunlop; “The Gyroscope and its Applications,” by Dr. R. Jack; “The Occurrence and Genesis of Ore Deposits,” by Professor J. Park; and “A Chapter in Evolution,” by Dr. W. P. Gowland.

– 351 –

At the annual meeting (4th December) the annual report was adopted, and the following officers were elected for 1918: President—Professor R. Jack. Vice-Presidents—Professor J. K. H. Inglis and Mr. G. M. Thomson. Hon. Secretary—Mr. E. J. Parr. Hon. Treasurer—Mr. H. Brasch. Hon. Auditor—Mr. J. W. Milnes. Council—Professors W. B. Benham, W. N. Benson, J. Park, and D. B. Waters, Dr. R. V. Fulton, Messrs. G. W. Howes and H. Mandeno. Representatives on the Board of Governors of the New Zealand Institute—Messrs. G. M. Thomson and E. J. Parr.

Abstract of Annual Report.

The attention of the Council during the year has been very largely centred upon the consideration of a proposal for the reform of the New Zealand Institute. The proposed scheme of reform, which originated in the first instance with the Director of the Dominion Museum, has been submitted by the New Zealand Institute to each of the affiliated societies for its careful consideration. At the present time it appears that when the scheme comes up for final consideration by the New Zealand Institute at its annual meeting in January it will be considerably restricted in its scope before its final adoption. As regards some of the more important features of the scheme, your Council has expressed itself as being in favour of the proposed appointment or election of Fellows of the Institute as a mark of distinction in recognition of scientific research work, and also of the proposal to hold public meetings of the New Zealand Institute in various centres in rotation, and is strongly of the opinion that an increased Government grant is urgently needed by the Institute in order that it may carry on its work. It does not, however, see any necessity for altering the constitution of the Board of Governors of the Institute, nor for the establishment of an associate membership.

At the request of the New Zealand Institute your Council has also co-operated with the other affiliated societies in drawing up recommendations and suggestions to assist the Efficiency Board in drafting a scheme for the co-ordination of science and industry.

Support was also given to the Wellington Philosophical Society in its endeavour to have New Zealand mean time made exactly twelve hours in advance of Greenwich mean time, instead of eleven hours and a half as at present.

A sum of five guineas has been donated to the Sir William Ramsay Memorial Fund, which is to be used for improvements in the training of chemists for industrial work.

Technological Branch.

Five meetings were held during 1917, and the following papers and addresses were read: (22nd May) “Steam Generators,” by Mr. R. A. McLintock; (19th June) “Fuels for Internal-combustion Engines,” by Mr. J. B. Mason; (17th July) “Bridge-design on the New Zealand Railways,” by Mr. F. J. Jones; (21st August) “The Fire Hazard of Electrical Installations,” by Mr. F. R. Shepherd; (16th October) “Hydro-electrical Power,” by Mr. M. C. Henderson.

At the meeting of the 16th October the annual report of the branch was read and adopted, and the following officers for 1918 were elected: Chairman—Mr. J. B. Mason. Vice-Chairmen—Professors J. Park and D. B. Waters, and Mr. B. B. Hooper. Hon. Secretary—Mr. H. Brasch. Committee—Messrs. M. C. Henderson, F. J. Jones, H. Mandeno, G. Simpson, and R. N. Vanes.

Astronomical Branch.

Only one meeting was held during the year—that of the 23rd October; a paper on “Astronomy in War-time” was read by Mr. J. W. Milnes.

The following officers for 1918 were elected at the same meeting: Chairman—Mr. R. Gilkison. Vice-Chairmen—Professors R. Jack, J. Park, and D. R. White. Hon. Secretary—Mr. J. W. Milnes. Committee—Dr. P. D. Cameron, and Messrs. H. Brasch, C. Frys, W. T. Neill, E. J. Parr, and W. S. Wilson.