Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 51, 1919
This text is also available in PDF
(168 KB) Opens in new window
– 517 –

New Zealand Institute

Established under an act of the general, assembly of new zealand intituled the new zealand institute act, 1867; reconstituted by an act of the general assembly of new zealand under the new zealand institute act, 1903, and continued by the new zealand institute act, 1908.

Board Of Governors.
Ex Officio.
His Excellency the Governor-General.
The Hon. the Minister of Internal Affairs.

Nominated by the Government.

Mr. Charles A. Ewen (reappointed December, 1918); Dr. J. Allan Thomson, F.G.S. (reappointed December, 1917); Mr. B. C. Aston, F.I.C., F.C.S. (reappointed December, 1917); Dr. Charles Chilton, F.L.S., C.M.Z.S. (reappointed December, 1918).

[The section below cannot be correctly rendered as it contains complex formatting. See the image of the page for a more accurate rendering.]

Elected by Affiliated Societies (December, 1918).
Wellington Philosophical Society Professor H. B. Kirk, M.A.
Professor T. H. Easterfield.
Auckland Institute Professor H. W. Segar, M.A.
Professor A. P. W. Thomas, M.A.
Philosophical Institute of Canterbury Dr. F. W. Hilgendorf, M.A.
Mr. L. Birks, B.Sc.
Otago Institute Hon. G. M. Thomson, F.C.S., F.L.S., M.L.C.
Mr. E. J. Parr, M.A., B.Sc.
Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute Mr. H. Hill, B.A., F.G.S.
Nelson Institute Dr. L. Cockayne, F.L S., F.R.S.
Manawatu Philosophical Society Mr. M. A. Eliott.
Wanganui Philosophical Society Dr. P. Marshall, F.G.S.
Officers for the Year 1919.
President: Dr. L. Cockayne, F.R.S.
Hon. Treasurer: Mr C. A. Ewen.
Hon. Editor: Dr. C. A. Cotton, F.G.S.
Hon. Librarian: Dr. J. Allan Thomson, F.G.S.
Hon. Secretary: Mr. B. C. Aston, F.I.C., F.C.S.
(Box 40, Post-office, Wellington).
Affiliated Societies.
Name of Society. Secretary's Name and Address Date of Affiliation.
Wellington Philosophical Society C. G. G. Berry, Railway Buildings, Wellington 10th June, 1868.
Auckland Institute T. F. Cheeseman, Museum, Auckland 10th June, 1868.
Philosophical Institute of Canterbury William Martin, 51 Matai Street, Riccarton, Christchurch 22nd October, 1868.
Otago Institute Professor John Malcolm, University, Dunedin 18th October, 1869.
Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute C. F. H. Pollock, P.O. Box 166, Napier 31st March, 1875.
Nelson Institute E. L. Morley, Waimea Street, Nelson 20th December, 1883
Manawatu Philosophical Society K. Wilson, 92 Rangitikei Street, Palmerston North 6th January, 1905.
Wanganui Philosophical Society C. R. Ford, College Street, Wanganui 2nd December, 1911.
Poverty Bay Institute John Mouat, Adams Chambers, Gladstone Road, Gisborne 1st February, 1919.
– 518 –

Former Honorary Members.


  • Agassiz, Professor Louis.

  • Drury, Captain Byron, R.N.

  • Finsch, Professor Otto, Ph.D.

  • Flower, Professor W. H., F.R S.

  • Hochstetter, Dr. Ferdinand von.

  • Hooker, Sir J. D., G C.S.I., C.B., M.D, F.R.S., O.M.

  • Mueller, Ferdinand von, M.D., F.R.S., C.M.G.

  • Owen, Professor Richard, F.R.S.

  • Richards, Rear-Admiral G. H.


  • Darwin, Charles, M.A., F.R.S.

  • Gray, J. E., Ph.D., F.R.S.

  • Lindsay, W. Lauder, M.D., F.R.S.E.


  • Grey, Sir George, K.C.B.

  • Huxley, Thomas H., LL.D., F.R.S.

  • Stokes, Vice-Admiral J. L.


  • Bowen, Sir George Ferguson, G.C.M.G.

  • Gunther, A., M.D., M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.

  • Lyell, Sir Charles, Bart., D.C.L., F.R S.

  • Pickard-Cambridge, Rev. O., M.A., F.R.S, C.M.Z.S.


  • McLachlan, Robert, F.L.S.

  • Newton, Alfred, F.R.S.

  • Thomson, Professor Wyville, F.R.S.


  • Filhol, Dr. H.

  • Rolleston, Professor G., M.D., F.R.S.

  • Sclater, P. L., M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.


  • Berggren, Dr. S.

  • Clarke, Rev. W. B., M.A., F.R.S.

  • Etheridge, Professor R., F.R.S.


  • Baird, Professor Spencer F.

  • Weld, Frederick A., C.M.G.


  • Garrod, Professor A. H., F.R.S.

  • Müller, Professor Max, F.R.S.

  • Tenison-Woods, Rev. J. E., F.L.S.


  • The Most Noble the Marquis of Normanby, G.C.M.G.


  • Carpenter, Dr. W. B., C.B., F.R.S.

  • Ellery, Robert L. J., F.R S.

  • Thomson, Sir William, F.R.S.


  • Gray, Professor Asa.

  • Sharp, Richard Bowdler, M.A., F.R.S.

  • Wallace, A. R., F.R.S., O.M.


  • Beneden, Professor J. P. van.

  • Ettingshausen, Baron von.

  • McCoy, Professor F., D.Sc., C.M.G., F.R S.

– 519 –


  • Riley, Professor C. V.


  • Davis, J. W., F.G.S., F.L.S.


  • Mitten, William, F.R.S.


  • Langley, S. P.

  • Lydekker, Richard, F.R.S.


  • Agardh, Dr. J. G.

  • Avebury, Lord, P.C., F.R.S.

  • Massee, George, F.L.S., F R.M.S.


  • Eve, H. W., M.A.

  • Howes, G. B., LL.D., F.R.S.


  • Milne, J., F.R.S.


  • Darwin, Sir George, F.R.S.


  • Arber, E. A. Newell, M.A., Sc.D., F G S., F.L.S.

Former Manager and Editor.
[Under the New Zealand Institute Act, 1867.]


  • Hector, Sir James, M.D., K.C.M.G., F.R.S.

Past Presidents.


  • Hutton, Captain Frederick Wollaston, F.R.S.


  • Hector, Sir James, M.D., K.C.M.G., F.R.S.


  • Thomson, George Malcolm, F.L.S., F.C.S.


  • Hamilton, A.


  • Cheeseman, T. F., F.L.S., F.Z.S.


  • Chilton, C., M.A., D.Sc., LL.D., F.L S., C.M.Z.S


  • Petrie, D., M.A., Ph.D.


  • Benham, W. B., M.A., D.Sc., F.Z.S., F.R.S.

– 520 –

Honorary Members.

  • Sharp, Dr. D., University Museum, Cambridge.

  • Liversidge, Professor A., M.A., F.R.S., Fieldhead, Coombe Warren, Kingston Hill, England.

  • Nordstedt, Professor Otto, Ph.D., University of Lund, Sweden.

  • Goodale, Professor G L., M.D., LL.D, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass., U.S A.

  • Codrington, Rev. R. H., D.D., Wadhurst Rectory, Sussex, England.

  • Thiselton - Dyer, Sir W. T., K.C.M.G., C.I E, LL D., M.A., F.R S., Witcombe, Gloucester, England.

  • Goebel, Professor Dr. Carl von, University of Munich.

  • Sars, Professor G. O., University of Christiania, Norway.

  • Klotz, Professor Otto J., 437 Albert Street, Ottawa, Canada.

  • Rutherford, Professor Sir E., D.Sc, F.R.S., Nobel Laureate, Cambridge, England.

  • David, Professor T. Edgeworth, F.R S., C.M.G., Sydney University, N.S.W.

  • Beddard, F. E., D.Sc., F R.S., Zoological Society, London.

  • Brady, G. S., D.Sc., F.R.S., University of Durham, England

  • Dendy, Dr. A, F.R.S., King's College, University of London, England.

  • Diels, Professor L., Ph.D., University of Marburg.

  • Meyrick, E., B.A, F.R.S., Marlborough College, England.

  • Stebbing, Rev. T. R. R., F.R.S., Tunbridge Wells, England.

  • Bruce, Dr. W. S., Edinburgh.

  • Davis, Professor W. Morris, Harvard University, Cambridge, Mass., U.S A.

  • Hemsley, Dr. W. Botting, F.R.S., Kew Lodge, St. Peter's Road, Broadstairs, Kent, England.

  • Balfour, Professor I. Bayley, F.R.S., Royal Botanic Gardens, Edinburgh.

  • Haswell, Professor W. A., F.R.S, University, Sydney.

  • Bateson, Professor W., F.R.S, Merton, Surrey, England.

  • Massart, Professor Jean, University of Brussels, Belgium