Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 59, 1928
This text is also available in PDF
(162 KB) Opens in new window
– 961 –

New Zealand Institute, 1928.

Established Under An Act Of The General Assembly Of New Zealand Intituled The New Zealand Institute Act, 1867; Reconstituted By An Act Of The General Assembly Of New Zealand Under The New Zealand Institute Act. 1903, And Continued By The New Zealand Institute Act, 1908.

Board Of Governors. Ex Officio.
His Excellency The Governor-General.
The Hon. The Minister Of Internal Affairs.
Nominated By The Government

Dr. Charles Chilton, M.A., F.L.S., C.M.Z.S., F.N.Z.Inst. (reappointed December, 1926); Dr. Leonard Cockayne, F.R.S., F.L.S., F.N.Z. Inst. (reappointed December, 1926). Mr B. C. Aston, F.I.C., F.C.S. F.N.Z.Inst. (reappointed December, 1927); Dr. J. Allan Thomson, F.G.S., F.N.Z.Inst. (reappointed December, 1927).

Elected By Affiliated Societies, 1927.
Mr. G. V. Hudson, F.E.S., F.N.Z.Inst.
Wellington Philosophical Society Professor H.B. Kirk, M.A., F.N.Z.Inst.
Professor H. W. Segar, M. A., Ph.D., F.N.Z.Inst.
Auckland Institute Professor F. P. Worley, D.Sc.
Professor C. Coleridge Farr, D.Sc., F.P.S.L., F.N.Z.Inst.
Philosophical Institute of Canterbury Mr. A. M. Wright, A.I.C., F.C.S.
Hon. G. M. Thomson, F.L.S., F.N.Z.Inst., M.L.C.
Otago Institute Professor j. Park, F.G.S., F.N.Z.Inst.
Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute Mr. H. Hill, B.A., F.G.S.
Nelson Institute Professor T. H. Easterfield, M.A., Ph.D., F.I.C., F.N.Z.Inst.
Manawatu Philosophical Society Mr. M. A. Eliott.
– 962 –

Officers For The Year 1928.
President: Dr. J. Allan Thomson, F.G.S., F.N.Z.Inst.
Hon. Treasurer: Mr. M. A. Eliott.
Hon. Editor: Mr. Johannes C. Andersen, F.N.Z.Inst.
Hon. Librarian: Professor D. M. Y. Sommerville, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.E., F.N.Z.Inst.
Hon. Returning Officer: Professor H. W. Segar, M.A., Ph.D., F.N.Z.Inst.
Hon. Secretary: Mr. B. C. Aston, F.I.C., F.C.S., F.N.Z.Inst.
Affiliated Societies. 1927-28.

[The section below cannot be correctly rendered as it contains complex formatting. See the image of the page for a more accurate rendering.]

Name of Society. Secretary's Name and Address. Date of Affiliation.
Wellington Philosophical Society Mr. W. J. Phillipps, Dominion Museum, Wellington 10th June, 1868.
Auckland Institute Mr. G. Archey, Auckland Institute and Museum, Auckland 10th June, 1868.
Philosophical Institute of Canterbury Mr. R. O. Page, 59 May's Road, Christchurch. 22nd October, 1868.
Otago Institute Mr. F. H. Turner, Geology Department, Otago University, Dunedin. 18th October, 1869.
Hawkes Bay Philosophical Institute Mr. C. F. H. Pollock, P. O. Box 301, Napier. 31st March, 1875.
Nelson Institute Mrs. Margaret Graham, Nelson 20th December, 1883
Manawatu Philosophical Society Mr. J. C. Merton, Solicitor, P.O. Box 346, Palmerston North. 6th January, 1905.

Former Manager And Editor.

[Under the New Zealand Institute Act, 1867.]
1867-1903.—Hector, Sir James, M.D., K.C.M.G., F.R.S.

– 963 –

Past Presidents.

  • 1903-4.—Hutton, Captain Frederick Wollaston, F.R.S.

  • 1905-6.—Hector, Sir James, M.D., K.C.M.C., F.R.S.

  • 1907-8.—Thomson, George Malcolm, F.L.S.

  • 1909-10.—Hamilton, A.

  • 1911-12.—Cheeseman, T. F., F.L.S., F.Z.S.

  • 1913-14.—Chilton, C., M.A., D.Sc., LL.D., F.L.S., C.M.Z.S.

  • 1915.—Petrie, D., M.A., Ph.D.

  • 1916-17.—Benham, W. B., M.A., D.Sc., F.Z.S., F.R.S.

  • 1918-19.—Cockayne, L., Ph.D., F.R.S., F.L.S., F.N.Z.Inst.

  • 1920-21.—Easterfield, T. H., M.A., Ph.D., F.N.Z.Inst.

  • 1922-23.—Kirk, H. B., M.A., F.N.Z.Inst.

  • 1924-25.—Dr. P. Marshall, M.A., F.G.S., F.N.Z.Inst,

  • 1926-27.—Mr. B. C. Aston. F.I.C., F.C.S., F.N.Z.Inst.