Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 61, 1930
This text is also available in PDF
(99 KB) Opens in new window
– 562 –


The Hutton Memorial Medal and Research Fund.

Regulations under which the Hutton Memorial Medal shall be awarded and the Research Fund administered.

1. Unless in exceptional circumstances, the Hutton Memorial Medal shall be awarded not oftener than once in every three years; and in no case shall any medal be awarded unless, in the opinion of the Board, some contribution really deserving of the honour has been made.

2. The medal shall not be awarded for any research published previous to the 31st December, 1906.

3. The research for which the medal is awarded must have a distinct bearing on New Zealand zoology, botany, or geology.

4. The medal shall be awarded only to those who have received the greater part of their education in New Zealand or who have resided in New Zealand for not less than ten years.

5. Whenever possible, the medal shall be presented in some public manner.

6. The Board of Governors may, at any annual meeting, make grants from the accrued interest of the fund to any person, society, or committee for the encouragement of research in New Zealand zoology, botany, or geology.

7. Applications for such grants shall be made to the Board before the 30th September.

8. In making such grants the Board of Governors shall give preference to such persons as are defined in regulation 4.

9. The recipients of such grants shall report to the Board before the 31st December in the year following, showing in a general way how the grant has been expended and what progress has been made with the research.

10. The results of researches aided by grants from the fund shall, where possible, be published in New Zealand.

11. The Board of Governors may from time to time amend or alter the regulations, such amendments or alterations being in all cases in conformity with resolutions 1 to 4.

Award of the Hutton Memorial Medal.

1911. Professor W. B. Benham, D.Sc., F.R.S., University of Otago—For researches in New Zealand zoology.

1914. Dr. L. Cockayne, F.L.S., F.R.S.—For researches in the ecology of New Zealand plants.

1917. Professor P. Marshall, M.A., D.Sc.—For researches in New Zealand geology.

– 563 –

1920. Rev. John E. Holloway, D.Sc.—For researches in New Zealand pteridophytic botany.

1923. J. Allan Thomson, M.A., D.Sc., F.G.S., F.N.Z.Inst.—For researches in geology.

1926. Charles Chilton, M.A., D.Sc., F.L.S., C.M.Z.S., F.N.Z.Inst.—For his continuous researches on the Amphipodous Crustacea of the Southern Hemisphere.

1929. Mr. G. V. Hudson, F.E.S., F.N.Z.Inst.—For research in Entomology.

Grant from the Hutton Memorial Research Fund.

1919. Miss M. K. Mestayer £10, for work on the New Zealand Mollusca.

1923. Professor P. Marshall, M.A., D.Sc., F.N.Z.Inst.—£40, for study of Upper Cretaceous ammonites of New Zealand.

1927. Miss M. K. Mestayer £30, for research on Brachiopoda and Mollusca.

1928. Dr. C. Chilton £50, for research on New Zealand and Antarctic Crustacea.

1928. Mr. J. H. Findlay £10, for research on New Zealand Mollusca.