Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 72, 1942-43

Otago Branch of the Royal Society of New Zealand.
Annual Report for Session 1941.
President: Dr R. Gardner.
Hon. Secretary: Dr H. D. Skinner.

Membership: The number of full members for 1941 is 173, as compared with 178 for 1940. There were four new members. Three associate and two full members resigned, and there was one death.

Deaths: The deaths are recorded with regret of Mr Frank Mitchell and Mr L. S. Hobbs.

War Services: The following members are on active service overseas:—Dr A. M. Begg, Dr Walden Fitzgerald, Mr Owen Fletcher, Mr. R. Kirk, Dr J. R. J. Moore, Mr J. M. Paape.

Attendance: The average attendance at junior lectures was 72, compared with 80 in the previous session. The average attendance of the main branch for its first seven meetings was 44, as compared with 52 and 55 in the two preceding years. This year's average of 44 was helped by an attendance of 84 at the third meeting, which was a joint one with the Field Club. The decline in attendance is due to the war.

Representatives on Museum Management Committee: Messrs George Simpson and J. Scott Thomson were again elected.

Conversazione: Owing to war lighting regulations, it was impossible to hold this, the most popular of all our functions.

Portraits of Past Presidents: Portraits are still lacking of W. Arthur, Dr de Zouche, Dr Belcher, and F. W. Payne. In the coming year it is proposed to mount those we have.

Auditorium Fund: This now stands at £1460. An auditorium is the Museum's most pressing need, and it is certainly one of the most pressing needs of this Society.

Native Bird Protection: Towards the end of the session action was taken by resolutions sent to the Minister of Internal Affairs and to other member bodies urging the more stringent application of regulations at Stewart Island and the taking of steps to exterminate cats on Herekopere Island. In this matter the Society is working in co-operation with the Southland Branch of the Royal Society. The subject of native bird protection is one of the “livest” which comes before the Society, as is evidenced by attendance at méetings when it is discussed.

Agriculture: The most vigorous debate in the session arose out of the symposium on “Future Possibilities of Farming in New Zealand,” and it is hoped to arrange a similar symposium for next session. The Agricultural Section is undoubtedly the most vigorous section of the Society.

Reports of Branches: The annual reports of the branches are on file and may be consulted at the Museum.

Ordinary Meetings: These are set out on the syllabus supplied to members and to the secretaries of other member bodies.


Thanks of the Society are due to the speakers during the session, to those who provided supper, and to the University of Otago for permission to use lecture rooms.

Original Papers:

Dr W. N. Benson, F.R.S.: “The Basic Igneous Rocks of Eastern Otago and Their Tectonic Environment.”

Dr F. J. Turner: “Structural Petrology of Quartz Veins in East Otago-Schists.”

Dr F. J. Turner: “Current Views on the Origin of Schistosity.”

Sir William Benham, F.R.S.: “Fossil Cetacea of New Zealand. V. Mauicetus, new name for Lophocephalus.”

W. George Howes: “New Lepidoptera.”

George Simpson and J. Scott Thomson: “Notes on Some New Zealand Plants, and Descriptions of New Species No. 2.”