Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 77, 1948-49

Participating Bodies And Officers

  • The Royal Society of New Zealand and its Branches.

  • The Polynesian Society.

  • New Zealand Institute of Chemistry.

  • New Zealand Section, Royal Institute of Chemistry.

  • New Zealand Institute of Engineers.

  • New Zealand Institute of Architects.

  • New Zealand Society of Animal Production.

  • New Zealand Geographical Society.

  • New Zealand Branch, Royal Sanitary Institute.

  • New Zealand Institute of Foresters (Incorporated).

  • Royal New Zealand Institute of Horticulture (Incorporated).


His Excellency Lt. General Sir Bernard Cyril Freyberg, V.C., G.C.M.G., K.C.B., K.B.E., D.S.O., LL.D., Governor-General, Dominion of New Zealand.


W. N. Benson, B.A., D.Sc., F.R.S., F.R.S.N.Z.


E. Marsden, C.B.E., D.Sc., F.R.S., F.R.A.S., F.R.S.N.Z.

H. C. McQueen, M.A.

P. Marshall, M.A., D.Sc., F.G.S., F.R.G.S., F.R.S.N.Z.

L. B. Hutton, M.C., B.E., M.I.E.E., M.N.Z.I.E. (N.Z. Institution of Engineers).

W. A. Joiner, M.Sc., A.M.I. Chem. E., F.R.I.C. (N.Z. Section, Royal Institute of Chemistry).

W. J. McKeon, F.N.Z.I.A. (N.Z. Institute of Architects).

Hubert Smith, M.A., M.D. (Cantab.), D.P.H. (Lond.), (N.Z. Branch, Royal Sanitary Institute).

F. G. Soper, Ph.D., D.Sc. (Wales), F.R.I.C. (N.Z. Institute of Chemistry).

I. J. Cunningham, B.V.Sc., Ph.D., M.Sc. (N.Z. Society of Animal Production).

O. Jones, M.A., Dip. For. (Oxon.), (N.Z. Institute of Foresters, Incorporated).

J. G. Mackenzie (Royal N.Z. Institute of Horticulture, Incorporated).

Hon. General Secretary and Treasurer:

J. T. Salmon, D.Sc., F.R.E.S., Dominion Museum, Buckle Street, Wellington, C.3.

Hon. Assistant General Secretary:

R. R. Forster, Dominion Museum, Buckle Street, Wellington, C.3.

Executive Committee:

Royal Society—L. Bastings, D.Sc., F.Inst. P.; C. A. Fleming, B.A., M.Sc.; L. R. Richardson, M.Sc., Ph.D. (McGill); R. G. Simmers, M.Sc., Sc.D. New Zealand Institute of Chemistry—W. G. Hughson, M.Sc., F.N.Z.I.C. New Zealand Institution of Engineers—L. B. Hutton, M.C., B.E., M.I.E.E., M.N.Z.I.E. New Zealand Geographical Society—D. W. McKenzie, M.Sc. New Zealand Institute of Architects—W. J. McKeon, F.N.Z.I.A. Polynesian Society—J. M. McEwen, LL.B., and Section Secretaries.

Programme Committee:

H. C. McQueen, J. T. Salmon, R. R. Forster, and Section Secretaries.

Accommodation Committee:

W. G. Hughson, H. C. McQueen, J. T. Salmon.

Publicity Officer:

J. K. Dixon, M.Sc., Ph.D., Soil Survey Bureau, Molesworth St., Wellington, N.1.

Printing Committee:

H. C. McQueen, L. R. Richardson, J. T. Salmon.