Go to National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa
Volume 88, 1960-61
This text is also available in PDF
(2 MB) Opens in new window
– 65 –

Award of The Hector Memorial Medal and Prize

  • 1912. L. Cockayne, C.M.G., Ph.D., F.R.S., F.R.S.N.Z., F.L.S. —For researches in New Zealand botany.

  • 1913. Sir Thomas H. Easterfield, K.B.E, M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in chemistry.

  • 1914. E. Best, F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in New Zealand ethnology.

  • 1915. P. Marshall, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z., F.G.S. —For researches in New Zealand geology.

  • 1916. Lord Rutherford of Nelson, O.M., D.Sc., F.R.S., F.R.S.N.Z. —For researches in physics.

  • 1917. C. Chilton, M.A., D.Sc., M.B., C.M., F.R.S.N.Z., F.L.S.—For researches in zoology.

  • 1918. T. F. Cheeseman, F.R.S.N.Z., F.L.S., F.Z.S. —For researches in New Zealand systematic botany.

  • 1919. P. W. Robertson, M. A., M. Sc., Ph. D., F. R. S. N. Z. —For researches in chemistry.

  • 1920. S. Percy Smith, F.R.S.N.Z., F.R.G.S.—For researches in New Zealand ethnology.

  • 1921. R. Speight, M.A., M.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z., F.G.S.—For work in New Zealand geology.

  • 1922. C. Coleridge Farr, D.Sc., F.R.S., F.R.S.N.Z.—For research in physical science and more particularly work in connection with the magnetic survey of New Zealand .

  • 1923. G. V. Hudson, F.R.S.N.Z., F.E.S.—For researches in New Zealand entomology.

  • 1924. D. Petrie, M.A., F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in New Zealand botany.

  • 1925. B. C. Aston, F.R.S.N.Z., F.R.I.C.—For the investigation of New Zealand chemical problems.

  • 1926. H. D. Skinner, C.B.E. M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z.—For research in ethnology.

  • 1927. C. A. Cotton, D.Sc., Hon. LL.D., F.R.S.N.Z., F.G.S.—For researches in the geomorphology of New Zealand .

  • 1928. D. M. Y. Somerville M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z.—For his general mathematical work and particularly for his investigations in non-Euclidean geometry.

  • 1929. G. M. Thomson, F.R.S.N.Z., F.L.S.—For researches on the acclimatisation of animals in New Zealand and on the natural history of New Zealand fishes.

  • 1930. J. E. Holloway, L.Th., D.Sc., F.R.S., F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in the life-histories of New Zealand Pteridophytes.

  • 1931. W. P. Evans, C.B.E., M.A., Ph.D., F.R.S.N.Z.—For research in pure and applied chemistry.

  • 1932. Te Rangi Hiroa (P. H. Buck), M.D., Ch.B. (N.Z.), F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in Maori ethnology.

  • 1933. W. N. Benson, B.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z., F.G.S., and J. Marwick, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in New Zealand geology.

  • 1934. G. E. Weatherburn, M.A., D.Sc.—For outstanding original work in mathematics, especially in the use of vector analysis.

– 66 –
  • 1935. Sir. William B. Benham, K.B.E., M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S., F.R.S.N.Z.—For original researches in New Zealand zoology.

  • 1936. W.R.B. Oliver, D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z., F.Z.S.—For research in New Zealand botany.

  • 1937. J. R. Hosking, B.Sc., Ph.D.—For research in the chemistry of New Zealand plants.

  • 1938. H. W. Williams, M.A. Litt.D., F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in ethnology.

  • 1939. J. A. Bartrum. M.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in geology.

  • 1940. D. B. Macleod, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z.—For outstanding work in molecular physics.

  • 1941. H. J. Finlay, D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches on mollusca and foraminifera.

  • 1942. H. H. Allan, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.N.Z., F.L.S.—For researches in New Zealand botany.

  • 1943. L. H. Briggs, D.Sc. (N.Z.), D.Phil. (Oxon), F.R.S.N.Z., F.N.Z.I.C., F.C.S.—For researches in chemistry.

  • 1944. J. C. Anderson, M.B.E. F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in ethnology.

  • 1945. J. Henderson, M.A., D.Sc. F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in New Zealand geology.

  • 1946. H. G. Forder, M.A. (Cantab.)—For original contributions to mathematics, especially his treatise “The Calculus of Extension”.

  • 1947. A. W. B. Powell, F.R.S.N.Z.—For outstanding and long-continued researches on Mollusca.

  • 1948. G. H. Cunningham, C.B.E., D.Sc., Ph.D., F.R.S., F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in mycological botany.

  • 1949. R. A. Robinson, Ph.D., D.Sc. (Birm.), F.R.I.C, F.N.Z.I.C.—For researches in physical chemistry.

  • 1950. Ernest Beaglehole, M.A. (N.Z.), Ph.D., D.Litt (Lond.), F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in Polynesian ethnology.

  • 1951. F. J. Turner. D.Sc. (N.Z.), F.R.S.N.Z., F.G.S.—For researches in metamorphic geology.

  • 1952. K. E. Bullen, M.A., B.Sc. (N.Z.), M.A. (Melb.), Sc.D (Cantab.).—For research in seismology.

  • 1953. L. E. Richdale, M.A., D.Sc. F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in bird behaviour.

  • 1954. Mrs. Watson Smith (Lucv May Cranwell), F.R.S.N.Z.—For researches in botany.

  • 1955. F. B. Shorland, Ph.D., D.Sc. (Liv.) F.R.S.N.Z., F.N.Z.I.C.—For contributions to chemistry of fats.

  • 1956. R. S. Duff, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.A.I.—For contributions to science of anthropology, and in particular researches in the material culture of the moa hunters.

  • 1957. H. W. Wellman, M.A., D.Sc.—For research in New Zealand geology.

  • 1958. A. G. McLellan, Ph.D. (Edin.) M.Sc.—For theoretical work on the physical properties of fluids.

  • 1959. H. B. Fell, M.Sc. (N.Z.), Ph.D. (Edin).—For outstanding researches in Echinoderm embryology and systematics.

  • 1960. E. E. Chamberlain D.Sc.—For outstanding researches in New Zealand plant virology.